Stuffed Peppers

4 Oct

So I wanted to make something that was simple and fun, and had a Hungarian tradition! So I settled on stuffed peppers, this is far from the Hungarian recipe I actually have (and if you want it I will send it to you). I made it less time consuming and with a lot less calories.

Stuffed Peppers

Ingredients:

6 large peppers (I used a multi-colored pack)

1 lb ground turkey

3 tbs onion chopped

1 cup of cooked brown rice

pinch of salt

one clove pressed garlic

1 can tomato sauce

Directions:

Cut thin slice from stem of each pepper; remove guts and rinse
Preheat oven to 350 F
Cook and stir onion and turkey in skillet until turkey is cooked and drain
Stir in rice, salt, garlic, and 1 cup tomato sauce
Stuff each pepper with the mixture
Cover and bake 45 minutes
Uncover, bake 10-15 minutes longer

Optional: Top with cheese, I like gouda to add more flavor!

3 Responses to “Stuffed Peppers”

  1. Sparkling Mimi October 4, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    Those look delicious. I love stuffed peppers and with the weather getting a bit cooler it makes the perfect comfort food. Yum!

    Blessings, Mimi

    • Meagan@TIL October 5, 2010 at 10:32 am #

      Believe it or not I never had Stuffed Peppers until I moved here, and now they are a staple in my diet!

  2. Tori @ FIToriBLOG.com October 6, 2010 at 2:46 am #

    brings me back to my childhood! looks great!

Leave a Reply

