Halloween!

5 Oct

So by now you know that I’m an American living in Hungary…and if you didn’t shame on you because I talk about it enough!

Well in Hungary Halloween is not really celebrated. Sure you will see the occasional child going door to door for candy and the night club has a Halloween theme but it is far from the traditional American holiday.

Yesterday my boss looked at me in all seriousness and basically told me I needed to have my Hungarian friends over for an American Halloween party.

source

I am not the person you want throwing any type of party. I am so detail oriented that I make everyone around me crazy when I plan events. But I think I might have to try this. It would be a good time to host my few Hungarian friends and show them American culture.

source

Any suggestions would be much appreciated! I’m thinking something simple, maybe a dinner party of sorts. Does anyone have any good fall/Halloween themed recipes? or any suggestions in general!?

One Response to “Halloween!”

  1. Sparkling Mimi October 5, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    What a marvelous idea. I’m not sure what’s available to you but you can carve pumpkins, bake pumpkin seeds, anything with apples is always good. Decorate with orange, black and white balloons, streamers, candles and such. How about having a murder mystery or a séance after your dinner. That’s if you don’t mind that kind of thing. As for recipes I only seem to be able to think of snacks and sweets but the internet has all kinds of ideas I’m sure. I look forward to hearing about your plans.

    Have fun! Mimi

Leave a Reply

