Step #1 Goals

10 Oct

So tomorrow is the start of my official running program. I am following Start Walking Get Running Lose Weight program since I won this ebook. You can purchase this ebook online if you want to follow along with me or you can do it on your own.

Step #1 –Goals.

The book outlines a method for creating realistic goals, essentially the more specific the better. Also if you write down your goals you are twice as likely to achieve them, so quick get your pen/paper and get to writing!

 

Ultimate Goals: Reach 199.9 lbs by January 1st, 2011.

Fitness: Cardio for at least 30 minutes, 3 times a week. Strength training 30 minutes, 2 times a week.

Food: Count calories for every food that is ate, no cheating! Stay within the allotted 1600 calories.

Financial: Repay graduate school loans within 6 months after graduation.

Family/ Friends: Make an effort to speak with family and friends at least twice a week.

 

I chose my goals carefully. I wanted to pick goals that I knew I could achieve. I didn’t want to pick anything to crazy or unrealistic because let’s face it, if I did and didn’t meet my goal I would no doubt throw in the towel. These goals signify what is important to me at this point in time. My goals my change over time and if they do I will re-post. By displaying these goals I am in a sense holding myself very accountable.

 

I have only briefly glanced through the book…..which can be blamed on my having to read a ton on prison effectiveness and statistics this past week….but I like it. It is organized in a well to read manner and essentially teaches one through the book and videos on the subjects outlines. I encourage you, if you are wanting to lose weight through walking or running, to consider this book.

If you do decide to buy the book and want to be featured on my bog let me know! I”m interested in seeing others complete this program.

What goals do you have for the future?

2 Responses to “Step #1 Goals”

  1. Dave from Running Tips October 11, 2010 at 1:30 am #

    Hello Meagan! Great job setting your goals. I hope you find success within the program.

    I still follow the goal setting program every week. Currently I have been focused more on my finances than on fitness. I gotta get out of the red! Selling more books would help (shameless plug). I do have a fitness goal for the month (run three times each week with each run being 30 minutes or more).

  2. Sparkling Mimi October 11, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    I think you’re setting reasonable goals for yourself. I’ve often thought of beginning a running program but have never been too sure how to get started with it. I’m sure I’ll learn quite a bit and maybe even find a bit of motivation as I follow your progress. 🙂

    Good Luck!
    Mimi

Leave a Reply

