Butternut Squash Lasagna

12 Oct

I think I may be in love…..

source

with Butternut Squash!

Sometimes I wonder if I live under a rock or if I was to picky to try new things. It was probably the latter. I’m always said I’m not a picky eater, but my apprehension to trying new things is a big contradiction!

Anyways I only discovered the beauty that is butternut squash by accident! I went to the store for zucchini to put in vegetable soup, and after searching high and low and finding no zucchini I picked up the squash and brought it home. Now at this point I didn’t even know the name of what I was purchasing! It went well in my soup so I used it for Spaghetti Squash, again it was good…..So recently I made Butternut Squash Lasagna.

I have never made lasagna before and I was afraid that this might be my house afterward….

source

however it turned out amazing! And I think I really should move myself out of the burns water category for cooking!

I used this recipe! I substituted feta cheese for the Parmesan, because finding Parmesan around here is impossible and I am on a feta cheese kick right now!

I’m actually considering using it for my Halloween party. I need something that is a Fall dish, and it was good. I think with a nice salad and red wine it would make the perfect meal!

Exercise: 415 cals 30 minutes/elliptical

Nutrition: 1791 with +184 remaining

2 Responses to “Butternut Squash Lasagna”

  1. Sparkling Mimi October 12, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    You definitely should move yourself out of the “burns water” category. You’ve posted some great looking recipes. I’ve never made Butternut Squash Lasagna. I must admit I’ve never heard of it but it sounds delicious. Sounds like it would make for a wonderful meal at your Halloween party. How are the preparations coming with that?

    🙂
    Mimi

    • Meagan@TIL October 12, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

      I really recommend this recipe. I’m a fan of meat and lasagna in general but this actually made me consider adding it to my frequently cooked meals!

      The Halloween party planning is going slowly. It is the first time I’ve had to plan a party like this so I’m not sure how to go about it! I’m just glad I’ve got the main course figured out next is desserts, which I have no clue on yet! Any suggestions?!

Leave a Reply

