Mean Girls

13 Oct

I have been a member of several gyms throughout several states and countries. I would say that my experience has been very positive. My apprehensions about joining a gym for fear of what people might think/say/do has been unfounded as everyone is friendly and supportive…..that is until today.

I ran into a pack of mean girls!

source

You know the type that laughs, mocks, and gossips about everyone? These two girls came in and instantly started gossiping and insulting everyone in the gym. I was one of two other people in the room with them and since my elliptical was facing their treadmills it made for a pretty uncomfortable workout….that is until I realized I shouldn’t let them effect me.

I could care what they were saying, I could let it slow me down, I could let it send me into a fit of tears….but I didn’t. I don’t need to listen to them, their opinions don’t matter.

At the end of the day I’m not at the gym to impress anyone. These people that I meet for 40 minutes of my day are not people that I am trying to impress and their opinions of me don’t effect me.

I kept pushing myself on my workout. I didn’t focus on how I looked. I resisted rolling my eyes when I was stared at for the tenth time. At the end of my session I left the gym with a smile on my face because once again I did what I went there to do.

It’s annoying to be judged by people that don’t know you. It is annoying to be mocked and insulted. But at the end of the day you have to feel sorry for these people because they are so insecure and close-minded that they act that way. I would expect this behavior from children, not grown women.

This experience will not deter me. If I have to have a few bad experiences mixed in with hundred of positive ones then I will take those odds.

2 Responses to “Mean Girls”

  1. Sparkling Mimi October 14, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    You’re the mature one. Taking the higher road and not letting their “unimportant” opinions derail you shows just how strong you are. Good for you! You are a beautiful person and it shows. Those girls might think they shine by comparison but their “ugliness” is what truly came through.

    Mimi
    http://sparklingmimijourney.blogspot.com/

  2. Sparkling Mimi October 14, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    Eleanor Roosevelt once said “Nobody can make you feel inferior without your consent.” You just proved her right! 🙂

Leave a Reply

