Pumpkin and Lemon Risotto!

16 Oct

S5000725                

 

S5000694

What is a girl to do when the recipe she wants to use is in Hungarian? Well she translates what she can and passes it to a 7 year old to translate of course!

S5000693

 

The most difficult part of this recipe was the pumpkin!

We had to bake it

S5000697

cut it

S5000696

gut it

S5000703

peel it

S5000704

cut it again

S5000714

the finished result of the most time consuming part of this recipe!

S5000715

 

Ingredients:

  • 300 ml chicken broth
  • 1 tsp of saffron
  • 30 ml olive oil
  • 15 g butter
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 pressed garlic clove
  • 500 g risotto
  • 1 kg pumpkin (We only used half, and it was a lot.)
  • 150 ml white wine
  • pinch of salt and pepper
  • 1 lemon skin and juice
  • 50 g parmesan
  • 1/2 stem rosemary

 

Directions:

S5000717

1. Boil 300 ml chicken broth, take off burner and add saffron.

 

S5000718

 

2. Melt oil and butter in a pan until it becomes a liquid mixture.

S5000719

Add in onion and garlic until they are soft, not crispy!

S5000720

S5000721

Add in rice. Stir for about 2 minutes until rice is covered in oil. Once this is complete add in Pumpkin.

 

S5000722

3. Add 150 ml of wine. Cook until the alcohol is evaporated. Add half the chicken broth liquid. Stirring continually for 10 minutes or until the rice absorbs the liquid. Add in the remaining chicken broth liquid and stir  until all the liquid is gone and rice is soft.

S5000724

4. add salt and pepper. add grated lemon skin and juice. add parmesan. add rosemary and stir into mixture.

S5000725                

Overall this recipe is good. It wasn’t my favorite risotto as I didn’t really like the lemon taste of it. I prefer my risotto recipe that I gained in Italy, the one that calls for meat and takes hours to prepare! This was something new and while it was good it won’t be replacing my recipe any time soon.

6 Responses to “Pumpkin and Lemon Risotto!”

  1. Laurie October 17, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    I really like risotto even though it takes a bit more work than say rice. It’s well worth the effort. The other night was the first time I’ve ever eaten pumpkin. I love squash of all kinds but never considered pumpkin. I suppose unless it’s in a pie I figured it’s only other use is being carved with a candle in it for Halloween. lol…:-)

    I’d love to see the Italian risotto recipe. Could you email it to me?

    Mimi

    • Meagan@TIL October 20, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

      I don’t think I’ve ever had pumpkin in anything other than pie either until this recipe!

      My recipe is sadly in America, but I’ll send it to you as soon as I’m back! It is from Isola della Scala, which was the town beside my village in Italy. It is made with ground meat. If I forget to send it when I’m back remind me and I definitely will!

  2. simplyshaka October 19, 2010 at 1:18 am #

    I’ve been toying with the idea of making risotto and have a can of pumpkin sitting in my kitchen so I wonder if that would be ok to make? I have to admit though, the lemon flavor sounds a little funky but it still sounds intriguing.

    • Meagan@TIL October 20, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

      Go for it! I’m sure that the pumpkin from a can can’t hurt it, and you can put just about anything in risotto and it will still come out amazing! However, with that being said skip the lemon flavor! I think it was the one thing that was a disappointment in my recipe.

  3. Beth October 20, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    Wow that risotto looks AWESOME!!

    • Meagan@TIL October 20, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

      Thanks! It was definitely an interesting dish!

Leave a Reply

