Imperfect is the new perfect

24 Oct

I heard a song the other day, and I absolutely love it.  It is not just another catchy upbeat song, well it is but the lyrics are inspirational. I am pretty sure I listened to it 20 times this weekend while I was cleaning.

Caitlin Crosby-Imperfect Is The New Perfect

were every shape and size
you know we're
just perfect
were just perfect
we love our hips our thighs
because they're
just perfect

We are all very different. I tell the kids everyday when I’m at work that we are all different and that is okay. It is a good thing we all look different, have different opinions, and act different ways. If we were all the same how boring would that be? I for one am glad I am different than everyone. At the end of the day I am happy with who I am. I’ll be honest I struggle a great portion of the time excepting myself. Growing up with images of what I should look like has influenced my self-image. In the past I wanted to lose weight for the wrong reason, strictly for vanity. Health wasn’t the reason that I wanted to be at a normal BMI. Somewhere along the way my reasons for weight loss changed, now it is about health over vanity. I have learned to except who I am and my flaws.

If you haven’t already I suggest you check out Mish and her exposed movement!

Do you have a favorite inspirational song?

One Response to “Imperfect is the new perfect”

  1. Laurie October 25, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    What a great song…I see why you like it. I hope those very wise words will inspire people to embrace themselves and their differences. Dealing with a poor body image all my life it absolutely breaks my heart to see young people measure their self worth by what they see in the mirror. I think you will reach your goals because you are now doing it for all the right reasons.

    There are many songs that inspire me it all depends on what’s happening in my life at that moment.One particular favorite that comes to mind is “Don’t Rain on My Parade” from the movie Funny Girl with Barbara Streisand. The words have encouraged me to not let the opinions of others prevent me from doing what I know is right for me. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G_g3kkGH8Mo

    Other inspirational songs are “I Hope You Dance” Lee Ann Womack…”Beautiful” by Carol King “You Don’t Own Me” by Leslie Gore…Oh just way too many to name.

    Thanks for this post and giving me another song to add to my list of words to live by.

    Blessings,
    Mimi

Leave a Reply

