Running=Epic Fail

25 Oct

Today I wanted to implement my running training by running outside. It was a massively epic fail.

Pre-run I followed all the steps listed in the “Start Running” book, I did the pre-stretching everything. I even mapped my run today to make sure I got the full mile in (the concept is add a mile every week).Even though it was raining I still decided to go out there and do it, because it is Monday and Monday shapes how the week will go for me. Not running today would mean the rest of the week I’d make excuses about starting next week.

Here I am in my pre-reality check phase, ie before I went running!

S5000824

So I was a minute into running before I realized how difficult running really is. I’m overweight, sure, but I kick butt on an elliptical, run in place for an hour and can walk for hours. Running outside should have been a piece of cake, right? Wrong! I was gasping for breath and my lungs hurt at 1:30, no not one hour thirty minutes, one minute thirty seconds! Wow, the runners out there make it look easy.

So I wasn’t as prepared for running as I thought I would be. I went into today’s run thinking it would be a piece of cake, psh only a ten minute/ or one mile run. Easy. I would do it and come home no problems. I was so wrong it is unreal.

The “Start Running” book also had a walking section, which I did read. I mistakenly thought that I could skip right to the running section, even though the author clearly states start by walking then run. Yep I needed this reality check today. I need to start with the walking section and build my way up to the running.

I will fully admit I was embarrassed for thinking I could run easily, but it was a good reality check. I just realize that I have to start by walking/jogging and build my way up to a run. This reality check just makes me want to run even more! You just wait soon I will be running marathons! Okay maybe not soon but in the future I will!

 

What are your feelings on running?

3 Responses to “Running=Epic Fail”

  1. Roxie October 25, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    I had the same rude awakening a few weeks ago. I could totally run on a treadmill for 30 minutes straight! Could barely make it through C25K week 1. Weaksauce!

    I find running on a track or on the grass is easier than the concrete/street.

  2. shelly October 25, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    I had a similar experience before! A great tip in my running book is to run for three minutes, walk for one and repeat a few times. I found that great what with having the recovery time but still moving… y’know?

  3. Laurie October 27, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    I give you so much credit for attempting to run. I hope you’re going to continue to try :)…The same thing happened to me when I attempted bike riding. I thought it would be a cake walk but after about a mile I had to call my husband to come and get me because I couldn’t make it home. LOL…I can chuckle about that “embarrassment” now but at the time it was very humbling…A friend of mine is a runner and she said the same thing as Shelly. Alternate between walking and running as you build up your endurance. Good Luck!!!

    Mimi

Leave a Reply

