Annoyed About Ignorance

26 Oct

I like to consider myself an open-minded person, I believe that having different opinions is a good thing. I like surrounding myself with people that are different than me and having debates over random topics. I like shopping with my friends and picking completely different items because we have different styles. I like open and honest conversations where new opinions can be made and something can be learned. Believe me when I say that you will rarely find me criticizing other people for having different opinions than I have, except if their opinion is supported only with ignorance, hatred, and biases.

I read this article by Marie Claire, and it has my blood boiling. You know what, everyone is entitled to their opinion but to publish an article that attacks the obese population, saying that it is “displeasing to watch a very, very fat person simply walk across a room” is ridiculous. Wow, really? This garbage gets published? Freedom of speech is something that I support, but when I read this garbage I question why someone would even want to write this. I guess controversy sells, so why not draw publicity by running ignorant articles. This is the same company who a few weeks ago attacked several healthy living bloggers.

MIKE & MOLLY photo source

If you don’t like the television show Mike and Molly because you “aren’t comfortable watching intimacy between two plus-sized actors”, well don’t. I seriously doubt that there is a group of plus sized individuals out there tying slim people to the couch and forcing them to watch this show. If you don’t like it change the channel. I for one am glad that the networks are moving beyond the token fat guy character and expanding to making the plus sized actors staring characters. There are not enough real characters on televisions. The world is not made up of only white/beautiful/fit people. I find it absurd that in today’s society we do not have more shows that feature minorities/plus-sized/homosexual people. It seems that we are only willing to give this characters stereotypical rolls and feature them as a secondary character. The world is made up of many different, yet worthy, people.

The thing with articles like the one published in Marie Claire, is that while they are based on ignorant philosophies and written by close-minded individuals, is out there some young overweight child is reading it and thinking that they are disgusting and that if they simply walk across the room they are going to disgust someone. These remarks and articles are exactly what breeds eating disorders and low self esteem is people throughout the world.

Do you have an opinion on the article?

One Response to “Annoyed About Ignorance”

  1. Laurie October 27, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    I love “Mike and Molly”…It’s a hilarious show that shows the world that large people are human too. As for the author of that article…I feel sorry for him/her. They just showed the “world” how truly “Stupid” they are. I don’t read Marie Claire but if this is the kind of garbage they print then I’m not missing much…Thanks for having the courage to say what needed to be said.

Leave a Reply

