Happy Halloween!

30 Oct

          

Happy Halloween everyone! Hope you all are enjoying the holidays. I think that all things considered,  pulling off an American holiday abroad was pretty much a success. My guest list dwindled because of a nasty bug going around, but good food and great conversations made up for it!

Of course I had to model the food!

 S5000900   S5000909

The Food…..

S5000879S5000882

S5000881S5000883

 

All American desserts! You would be surprised how hard that was to accomplish! In order from top left: Cheesecake, Vanilla cupcakes, Chocolate chips cookies, and gummy worms. I’ll post recipes soon because the Cheesecake was amazing! Not pictured was the actual dinner of bow-tie pasta and garlic bread.

 

The Decorations….

S5000834S5000889

S5000890S5000888S5000891

S5000892S5000880

I found a total of two Halloween decorations in this country, and I got them at a German store! The only real Halloween decorations were the cups and napkins. I tried to decorate in a Fall theme which I think looks nice in the house, I might just keep them up for awhile! My friend Petra made some Halloween window paintings and put them up on my mirror and fridge (and yes, that is my actual fridge pictured, it is sooo small by American standards!) .

 

The guests…..

S5000905

 

All things considered it was a great night! I was really nervous that I wasn’t going to be able to pull this off. But at the end of the day it went smoothly. I am glad to have spent my last holiday in Hungary (Thanksgiving/My 24th will be spent in Ireland!!!) with good friends having an amazing time. The conversation was split between Hungarian and English, and I might have done the smile and nod throughout the Hungarian part because I understood every fourth word! Truth be told I don’t really celebrate Halloween in America, but sharing these cultural experiences with my friends was amazing and something I won’t forget!

One Response to “Happy Halloween!”

  1. Laurie October 31, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    The decorations are wonderful and the desserts…Yummy! Cheesecake is my favorite. What did your friends think of the party? I bet you all had a wonderful time.

Leave a Reply

