Flashback–Croatia

6 Nov

 

S5001350

Since I started this blog after my trips to Croatia you won’t find any pictures/info on my blog before this post and well that would be a shame. Croatia is probably my favorite country. It really is tied with Italy because I love my Italy friends and surrogate families and the Italian language, so if you take away the 7 month and countless trips to Italy, Croatia would be number one hands down!

S5001187

My love affair with Croatia started when I was 18. In fact my love of Croatia is well documented in an English paper I wrote my first semester at USI. The paper was about what your life would be like in 5 years. My paper focused on me teaching in Croatia. At the time I was an elementary education major and thought that I would work in the international school in Zagreb, for the shear fact that I thought Croatia was beautiful and wanted to teach.  This was long before I entered into au pairing and living abroad!

S5001166

My first 18 months in Europe I did not go to Croatia, even though I lived in Italy and it would have taken maximum 5 hours. There was also two failed attempts while I lived in Germany to go, however both times the trip got cancelled at the last minute. Needless to say I was devastated both times.

    S5001202

This time last year however I managed to go! My friend Brooke was visiting from Indiana, and being a good host I wanted to show her as much of Europe as we could in less than two weeks time. For a month we planned through emails and text messages the best places to go, and in the end we decided on one massive trip….Vienna, Bratislava, Bergamo, Milan, Venice,Plitvice, Zagreb, and Budapest. The trip was an utter disaster in all the cities except in Croatia. It poured down rain in every place except Croatia, imagine how uncomfortable it is to be running around in foreign countries,dragging suitcases, in the pouring rain and trying to make the most of it. The best was defiantly last.

 

S5001191

 

We arrived in Zagreb at 4 am and had to wait at the train station until 8 am for our tour guide. We took a tour through ZagrebCity. Our tour guide Davor was amazing. Even though the tour is a little pricy it was well worth it. Davor was so nice, even though Brooke and I ended up sleeping the 3 hours it took to get to Plitvice. Once we arrived we had our own personal tour with Davor, where he was very informative and a great tour guide. If you go to Plitvice you can expect crowds, however we got lucky! There was a maximum of 20 other people in the park that day and 16 of them were an Italian tour group! Plitvice is probably one of the most gorgeous places on Earth. After our tour we went back to Zagreb, we walked around for an hour, grabbed dinner, bought some souvenirs and crashed. Having spent a week doing nothing but traveling and hiking all day we were in bed by 8:30, which was just sad! The next morning by 7 am we were on a train bound for Budapest. While my first trip was short it was long enough to make me realize that I loved Croatia!

  S5001310  

I was also lucky enough to go back to Croatia again in April 2010 and will do a blog about that in the near future!

 S5001321

I was thinking that I might try to post flash-back posts once a week on my blog, with various different topics. So you might start seeing more of my past travels!

2 Responses to “Flashback–Croatia”

  1. Miszko January 1, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    It’s fantastic place!

  2. Bozko January 1, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Really beautiful place!

Leave a Reply

