Blogging Life Separate from Real Life?

11 Nov

Okay while the voting for the Future Prior Fat Girl continues, I’m pretty much out of it. That should devastate me right? I hate losing at anything, even throwing a board game against a 7 year old I struggle with (bad I know). But who can be upset when the competition was that good? Plus all the other contestants are so nice and motivated I can’t help but want them to win! I was talking last night with my mom about it and surprisingly I was okay with knowing I wasn’t going to win. It surprised me how positively I was taking it all, in the past I would have focused on the negative. Instead, I realized that while I only have 10 votes that is 10 people that believe in me. Since I know where two of the votes came from (thank mom and Shelly!) that means 8 people that don’t personally know me wanted to hear my story and believed in me. I can’t begin to tell you how happy that makes me.

I will admit that I did contemplate posting the competition on my facebook page and asking my 400+ friends to vote for me. In the end I decided against it because I keep my real life and my blog life separate, and didn’t want to sell out in this case in a ploy for votes. (Although when I saw how far behind I was in the voting it crossed my mind again!) I am not implying that another other contestant did this!

In all the contemplation it raised the question why do I keep my blogging life separate from my facebook page/ real life? When I started losing weight the only people that knew was my boss (who put me in WW classes) and my mom. I told my best friend that I was going to “meetings” on Saturday morning and didn’t elaborate. It was only three months later that she finally told me to stop being cryptic and for me to tell her what was going on, turns out she thought I might have been really sick or I developed substance abuse problem (although I’m not sure where she got the latter, but we were living in different states at the time so who knows). When I lost my first 40 lbs I hated the attention I received. I don’t like being the center of attention in general and when people talked about my weight loss it made me uncomfortable. I will endure all the uncomfortable comments because it means I am getting healthier! Recently I linked my blogging Twitter account with my real life Twitter account, and yesterday I shared my blog link with my mom. So I’m moving in the right direction!

Do you share your blog with your real life friends/family? How did you go about this?

6 Responses to “Blogging Life Separate from Real Life?”

  1. Leah November 11, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    Don’t be discouraged that you’re not a “winner” of the PFG competition. Yes, it’d be great to have that “public” support – but you’ve done *so well* on your own thus far! I just stumbled across your blog and will be bookmarking you. (And if it makes you feel better, I submitted my PFG story and it wasn’t even selected for the top 9)

    As far as blog life/real life – I am with you. I have a professional wordpress blog, a personal blogger blog, a professional twitter and a personal twitter account.

    I still haven’t posted on my personal blog that I entered the PFG… or even really mentioned that I’m a fat ass and need to lose weight, or that I’m starting WW next week…

    Keep in touch,
    Leah

    • Meagan@TIL November 14, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

      Thank you for the vote of confidence, and you are right I should be happy with how far I have came even if I didn’t win the whole thing.

      I’m happy to see someone else that keeps all that stuff separate! I was beginning to think I was the only one!

      I had a personal blog before I went fully into this one and I too didn’t mention anything about weight loss even though that was a huge part of my life. Maybe it was embarrassment, but it never got mentioned. I just got the courage last week to post something about it!

      If you’re still doing WW in a month we should be virtual weight loss buddies! I’m thinking about getting back into the program as soon as I’m stateside, it would be great to have someone to talk with about it.

  2. Laurie November 12, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Meagan, your story is amazing and motivating regardless of whether or not you win a contest. I voted for you not just because I love your blog but because I believe in you.

    • Meagan@TIL November 14, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

      Aww, have I told you lately how thankful I am that you read my blog? I appreciate your support and honestly knowing that you read my blog is a great source of motivation for me. Thank you for believing in me.

  3. Ann November 15, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    Meagan, I’m one of those 8 people that don’t personally know you who voted for you. Your journey seems more like mine that all the others, so I’m happy to have a link to your blog now. I’ll be following you in addition to the new priorfatgirl/guy. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • Meagan@TIL November 15, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

      Ann thank you for the vote of support! I am happy that you will be following my blog from now on and feel free to ask me any questions and make your opinion known around here!

Leave a Reply

