Books

15 Nov

   header000

I have lived in Hungary for over a year and only recently discovered the Könyvtár, also known in English as the library! You may not know this about me but I am a nerd, I love to read. I’ve had my nose buried in a book ever since I learned to read. I had a spare bedroom in my house set up as a library and probably own more books than I do of anything else.

It was super easy to get the library card and a bonus they could speak English. The English section was decent. I have been to three libraries abroad and this one had the best English section. Although there wasn’t much competition with the one in Italy that had only one English book!  They also had a extensive selection of German books and a few in Russian, Spanish, and French. I’m sad I didn’t find is sooner, but for the next month I will be going there frequently!

I picked up two cook books (1 in Hungarian 1 in English) and this book:

S5001087

My friend Mimi had suggested it to me a few weeks back. I had planned to pick it up when I got back to the States, but since I found it here I went ahead and rented it. I enjoyed the movie and was told that the book was better so I can’t wait to find out! 

In addition I am also reading these:

S5001088

Although these are more of a school reason. I’m not interested in these topics as I usually am in Criminology/Criminal Justice classes. My current semester is focusing on communication within organizations and how the Criminal justice system operates. I find that most of the material is things I know from my year working in the prison and well I can’t wait for this semester to be over!

 

And lastly:

viewer1

I am re-reading the Start Walking book because I want to try the program again. The first time I focused more on the running aspect, now I want to start with the walking and lead up to the running. I have also pretty much forgotten everything I read the first time as I skimmed through it. This time I am going to take my time.

Do you have any good book suggestions? Especially about weight loss/ healthy living that you would recommend?

One Response to “Books”

  1. Laurie November 17, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    I can’t believe I missed this post…But in my defense I’ve been in my kitchen for the past week painting. I know…crazy! Anyway, I’m glad you discovered the library and that it has a decent English section. I’ve been thinking about getting a library card myself. You’d think I’d have one but I usually buy my books or borrow from friends. But the library really is the way to go. Let me know if you come across any great finds. I haven’t had much chance to read in recent weeks. Way too much going on. Let me know how you like “The Secret Lives of Bees”..:)

Leave a Reply

