Discovering Porridge

16 Nov

S5001098

 

I will admit that I have been pretty sheltered in my almost 24 years of existence. I was, and to a certain degree still am, a picky eater. Needless to say I have experienced a lot of new food living abroad and during my weight loss journey I realized that there are some food that I thought I’d hate that I love! Go figure, trying new things is good.

Another new discovery….Porridge. Edit, has been cooking up porridge for the kids lately and offered me some the other day. Now all I knew of porridge before that meal was the three little bears ate it once upon a time in a story book I read ages ago. So I was surprised when I liked it and even more surprised I found myself picking up the ingredients to make it. I made it for breakfast today and the best part is how simple it was!

 

S5001089

1. Bring 200 ml milk to a boil.

S5001092 2. Add 20 g ground wheat to boiling milk

S5001093

3. Stir mixture for 5-7 minutes

S5001095  4. Take off the stove and let the mixture sit 10 minutes

Simple right? I sprinkled mine with cinnamon, but you could probably put just about anything to it like with oatmeal. Oatmeal is my go to breakfast, but I might alternate porridge into the routine occasionally from now on.

What do you usually eat for breakfast?

4 Responses to “Discovering Porridge”

  1. Laurie November 17, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    I’ve never had porridge but oatmeal was the breakfast of choice when I was a kid. My Mom had 5 kids to feed and it was a very inexpensive way to fill that need. She would give us cereal in the morning, then make cookies for after school and when the box was empty she made doll furniture from it for me and my sister. 🙂

    • Meagan@TIL November 17, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

      How resourceful with the oatmeal! I love that she made it go along way and at the end you got a toy out of it! My mom doesn’t like porridge, so I too was raised on oatmeal. Which I sadly didn’t learn to make until this year!

  2. erica @ fashionmeetsfood November 17, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    wow doesn’t this just look all sorts of amazing!

    xo

    • Meagan@TIL November 17, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

      Thanks! The best part for me is how easy it is to make!

Leave a Reply

