Bratislava, Christmas Markets, and the rain!

19 Nov

Today was an amazing day! I went to Bratislava to pick up my friend Teresa and her friend Camilla after they flew in from Italy. I have been trying to get Terri to come visit since August so I am glade she finally made it, plus I kind of like listening to Italian conversations!

The good news is that Bratislava opened its Christmas market today, the bad news is that it rained the entire time we were there! My hair hates the rain! I left the house with soft/straight hair, and now it is course/curly, but it was a fun time none the less.

S5001135

Lunch was this place, totally not my choice and even though I told them it was sacrilegious for me (An American) to eat McDonalds abroad, somehow I got outvoted!

 S5001138

S5001140

 

After lunch we went to a small Christmas market.

S5001136

S5001145

S5001141

There wasn’t much, and it was 90% food stands. We didn’t stay there long. To be honest I thought that was the Christmas market! I was disappointed, but determined to find something to do in the city.

So we took a rain-soaked walk through the town.

S5001153

S5001159

S5001162

S5001185

Then we found this lady santa clause….and another Christmas market!

S5001172

S5001164

S5001166

S5001176

S5001149

S5001148

S5001150

S5001178

S5001181

I loved the bigger market. It brought such a fun atmosphere. There were Christmas songs playing and it was a nice environment. There was not many people out (probably due to the rain). This market was 75% food, I wish that the focus was more on home-made products than food products.

I ended up buying these goods from the Market…

S5001189

S5001186

There were pigs everywhere at this market so I picked these two up, mainly because the one said Bratislava! The cookies I like and will probably give them out for Christmas gifts. The cookies are typical Slovakian Christmas treats. 

 

I also picked up this bag from a local store…

S5001192

It is a pretty roomy messenger bag that I am going to put to use Monday when I head to Ireland. I needed a bag that was bigger than a purse yet smaller than a back pack. I think it is perfect!

In honor of my birthday Tuesday, Terri brought me a gift from her family…

S5001191

S5001198

S5001202

A calendar and a pencil. It is perfect because it is light and my Colts calendar expiries this year!

The rest of the night was spent with pizza and conversations. Tomorrow we will be going to the Thermal pools in the town!

One Response to “Bratislava, Christmas Markets, and the rain!”

  1. Laurie November 20, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    Even though it rained it still sounds like you had a great time with your friends. I love the pictures. I don’t know if it’s just me or the pics but I must admit I could feel the cold and the damp from the rain. 🙂

    I like the pigs you bought and love the messenger bag. What a pretty color. I’m anxious to hear all about your trip to Ireland. I know it’s going to be fun and amazing.

Leave a Reply

