The rest of Ireland!

29 Nov

 

Thanksgiving!

S5001437S5001436

I have missed out on many Thanksgivings, the fact is I celebrated most of my Thanksgivings abroad over the last few years where it wasn’t celebrated. I figured this year would be the same until my trip to Ireland corresponded with it. Shelly put a lot of effort into making the Thanksgiving American style! She did a lot of research on it and pulled it off successfully! If I didn’t know any better I would have though she was the American. The menu consisted of Turkey, ham, sweet potatoes, stuffing, carrots, parsnips and mashed potatoes. Unfortunately we had rolls and cranberry sauce however they were forgotten until later in the night. There were seven of us for the dinner. After dinner we went onto the chat roulette site (which is absurd with the amount of inappropriate behavior) and ended up playing board games the rest of the night

Late Late Toy Show:

S5001456S5001453

On Friday we watched the late late toy show. This is a typical Irish program, in fact I would compare the excitement level to that of our Superbowl. I’ll admit when they told me we would be watching a program where children reviewed toys I was a skeptic. However it was hilarious and fun. I’m expecting Shelly to send me a copy of it next year! While watching I ate the biggest fajita known to man!

Galway:

S5001451S5001457

I love this city! Shelly lives so close to the center of the city a two minute walk and you are in the middle of everything. I was nervous because I get lost in a paper bag, I thought forsure I would be frantically calling Shelly when I managed to get lost. However the city is well laid out and everything was easy to find. I spend countless hours wandering around and shopping. I loved that everything was written in Irish and English.

S5001447S5001448 S5001450S5001464  

 

Dublin: 

 S5001475 S5001476 S5001487  S5001490

Shopping:

S5001492S5001501 S5001507S5001506S5001502 S5001503 

The flaxseed was very affordable, I spend 7 euro for both bags. It is something I can’t find here in Hungary so I am excited to put it to use! I ended up buying a lot of candy for my mother. My mom lived in England as a child and every time she visits she ends up brining back a ton of candy. So Merry Christmas mom you are getting a ton of it this year! My coat broke while I was on vacation so I picked up a new one for 9 euro! I hated it at first but it is starting to grow on me.

 

Overall Ireland was amazing. I honestly can’t say anything bad about my trip! Shelly was an amazing host and I was sad to leave!

3 Responses to “The rest of Ireland!”

  1. ShellyCoen November 29, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    I’m glad you had such a good time! Despite the cold! Will try to organise better weather next time!!

  2. simplyshaka December 2, 2010 at 3:13 am #

    I love that she did Thanksgiving American style, thats just awesome! Some Thanksgivings I don’t even do traditional fare since I am not a huge turkey girl (like last yr when I had sushi)

    I am intriged by this Toy Show stuff, I may need to youtube it.

  3. Laurie December 2, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    Your trip to Ireland sounds amazing. I love the pictures. Way to go to Shelly for pulling off a traditional Thanksgiving dinner! What a wonderful friend. Your Mom will love the candy I’m sure. I know how much better European candy and chocolate is. We receive a “care package” from my husbands family in Germany every year during the holidays. It’s always filled with special treats you just can’t find here. Thanks so much for sharing your adventure! 😀

Leave a Reply

