Huber’s Orchard

26 Aug

Went to Hubers Orchard today. I haven’t been since I was a kid picking pumpkins. For some random reason it came to me on Friday night to go and pick apples.

20120826-184828.jpg

Jonathan and Gala apples were in season. They also had raspberries, grapes, peaches, peppers, and eggplant that we’re able to be picked.

20120826-184816.jpg

I decided to just pick apples. While it would have been fun to pick other fruits and vegetables, I didn’t have the time to justify spending all day in the fields. But I definitely can’t wait to go back soon.

20120826-184838.jpg

20120826-184845.jpg

I ended up going with my cousins Becky and George….also known as my recently adopted parents! I mean who else is going to humor me when I call all excited like a kid at Christmas saying that I wanted to go pick apples….

20120826-184856.jpg

The fields ran for miles and miles…. It was nice to escape the city and be able to enjoy the nature of it all.

20120826-184910.jpg

What’s a trip to an orchard without some wine! Luckily it was open. Indiana has an alcohol ban on Sundays so usually purchasing alcohol on a Sunday is impossible. I bought a peach, strawberry, and spiced apple wine. They had so many fruity wines that I had to refrain from buying the store!

20120826-184915.jpg

I ended up buying peach bread, corn, sweet potatoes, and peaches.

20120826-184922.jpg

And of course all the apples I picked! I got a mixture of Gala and Jonathan….the Jonathan apples remind me of Hungary. They were the apples that I always bought from the supermarket.

20120826-184927.jpg

While I sit here and blog I’m having a nice glass of peach wine….it is the wine of the month!

Leave a Reply

