Healthy Texas Hash

27 Sep

I was flipping through some old family recipes the other day and decided to try my hand at making a dish. When I was in the store picking up a few last minute items I decided to put my own healthy spin on the recipe. I honestly didn’t want to buy white instant rice. I’m thinking about potentially doing paleo so I didn’t want to bring another thing into my kitchen that I would have to throw out later, and I had the quinoa and have been waiting to try it!

I’ll admit I was a little scared. I’m not the worlds greatest cook, and to build my own recipe was intimidating. But I figured that it wouldn’t hurt to give it a try. I ended up using things I had in my house (minus my trip to get a pepper), the best part is I am sure that you can’t really mess this one up!

 

photo 1

Ingredients:

1 pound of beef

1 can of tomato sauce

1 can diced tomatoes

1 onion

1 green pepper

1/2 cup quinoa

*The original recipe called for instance rice, I substituted with quinoa.

 

I cooked the hamburger with the pepper and onion. Once the meat was cooked and the onion and pepper browned I drained the liquid and added the tomato sauce and the diced tomatoes. I poured the quinoa into a 2 quart baking dish and added 1 cup of water. I then poured the hamburger mixture into the dish and stirred. Then I baked it for 40 minutes at 350 degrees.

 

photo 2

The finished product. I was pleasantly surprised by how the quinoa turned out. The dish ended up tasting exactly like my families version. I will probably stick with my healthier version of this recipe, it reminds me of meals I had when I was younger just a little healthier and you can’t go wrong with that!

 

photo

Yesterday I received a package from Holland. Inside was a hot pink clog keychain and two pieces of candy. I thought the keychain was awesome! I am a sucker for anything hot pink! The candy…well I didn’t love it. I was warned that it would be a bit shocking, but I don’t think anything could have prepared me for that! I love getting mail, especially random things like this!

Leave a Reply

