Body Image

1 Jul

I read this really interesting post last night from The Militant Baker and it got me thinking. I am lucky enough to be friends with a variety of women. I have friends that are in all ranges in weight and body type and the one thing that seems to be the general consensus is the unhappiness of their size. Yes even my super skinny friends are not happy about their body image…and not in the unhealthy want to be even thinner way. They want to *gasp* gain weight.

This post was the one that really made me want to write this post. It was very inspiring. Not just for my plus sized ladies but for ladies in general….and men too;) …..From the Militant Baker.

You are fucking beautiful. I’m saying this with a straight face and seriously meaningful look where I maintain eye contact for an uncomfortable amount of time. I know you don’t feel like you fit into the category of gorgeous that our world creates. I know that its hard. I know that its a daily battle. But fuck their fascist beauty standards. The second you stop looking for a skinny model in your mirror and start looking at YOU… is the second you will start to appreciate what you are. Stop looking for flaws. Stop looking for differences. You are perfect. You are more than enough. You are the best thing that has ever happened to you. And you are fucking beautiful.

I can’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve made someone retake my picture because I was unhappy with my looks. Heck, I just got back from two weeks in Europe and every time my friend said “Let’s take a picture!” I instantly felt dread. Why? Because I was worried about how I would look in the photo. I was unhappy with my body, feeling that I wasn’t pretty enough. I still feel like I’m not pretty enough because of my body. That’s something that happens when you have people telling you you aren’t pretty because of your weight. It takes a lot to change negative thoughts about yourself.

But ladies, no matter how big or how small. You are Beautiful!

One Response to “Body Image”

  1. Nichole July 3, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

    Very well said! 😀

Leave a Reply

