4th of July

5 Jul

Image

Hope everyone had a great 4th of July! I spent mine in the gym sweating. I completed a solo workout. This was the first solo gym trip in awhile. I have been relying heavily on my gym buddy and personal trainer to keep me motivated at the gym. This solo trip I gave 100% effort. It was amazing. I ended up doing a 30 minute full body circuit, 30 minutes on abs, and cardio. As I was doing my cardio the hot dog eating contest was on….I didn’t feel the need to run out and eat a hot dog after that.

On another note, I hate holidays. I used to love holidays as a kid but now I dread them. I used to spend holidays with my mom, sister, and step father. With my mom being gone, I don’t have special holiday plans. I usually get a pity invite for Thanksgiving and Christmas Eve from my extended family, but it isn’t the same. For the 4th I tried to get my extended family or my friends to do something but no plans came. I could have spent the whole day inside wallowing in self pity, but I made the most of it. Life is harder when you have lost the only person you consider your family. But at the end of the day you have to keep on living. Holidays don’t have the same special meaning anymore, but that’s okay. Life is all about what you make it! 

3 Responses to “4th of July”

  1. Nichole July 5, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

    I usually do solo workouts but at Curves, everyone is usually talking and so you’re not alone. At home I am when I do Insanity and then I take walks with my friend. I think having a good combination of both is great.

    Also I’m sorry that the holidays aren’t the same to you anymore. I know it has to be rough. My advice is to hold on to those memories and remember the good times but also make new and happy memories as well. Even though loved ones have passed away, I don’t think they would want us to give up on making new memories to share and experience. 🙂 ❤

    • Meagan@TIL July 5, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

      Well said. I usually refrain from talking about anything that has to do with my mom and how I feel. But I felt like I needed to say it because that was how I felt. I have been trying to create new memories. You are right that is what she would have wanted!

      I usually can’t do solo workouts. I get bored and slack off. But I was really feeling it Thursday!

      • Nichole July 5, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

        Hey we all need to get things off of our chest and for you this is one of them. Healing will take awhile and the pain may never fully go away but it will get better. I’m glad you are able to talk about her and not keep it bottled up, that wouldn’t be good.

        I think for me solo workouts is just a time to relax and clear my head. Having someone with me is fine but when I get in the zone I am usually there and focused haha!

Leave a Reply

