Faux Frosty

9 Jul

I have been rediscovering blogs from my past, back when I had time to browse blogs and was so focused on my own. Recently I re-discovered Moves and Meals( I love this blog so I recommend checking it out!) One recipe I have always wanted to try was Janetha’s faux Wendy’s frosty. The problem was I lived in Hungary and had no idea how to translate Xanthan Gum. So when I found some on sale I knew I had to pick it up and luckily I was able to find the recipe again.

I made some simple tweaks when making mine last night. Janetha’s recipe can be found here: Faux Wendy’s Frosty.

20130709-111827.jpg

Here is how I made mine.

ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup (6 ounces) almond milk (or milk of your choice, i use unsweetened vanilla almond breeze by blue diamond)
  • 15 ice cubes
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (100 calorie designer whey)
  • 1 TB unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2/4 tsp xanthan gum (this is the KEY ingredient)
  • 1/2 banana
  • pinch of stevia

directions:

  • blend, blend, blend.

20130709-113004.jpgThe finished product

I found that I made enough for three servings. I froze the remaining two servings. I took one to work today, and it lasted the majority of the day and still was cold 6 hours in. It also helped to curb my appetite all day as a bonus!

Leave a Reply

