Yoga

20 Aug

Lately I’ve been seeing a lot of yoga DVD’s at my library (They have always been there but they have been catching my eye more). A few weeks ago I decided to go for it and do a “light” yoga workout after my gym session.

download

I have had The Biggest Loser Yoga dvd for years, I’m talking had it pre-Hungary days. I know this because I tried it out one time in my living room in Hungary. I got five minutes it (actually I think the furthest I got was the warm up!) and didn’t look at it since. Well I finally opened it up after seeing all these yoga Dvd’s (it was a sign). I made it through the workout 1 during my first session.

My arm burned, My legs burned, everything was on fire and I was sweating like crazy. I thought I was going to be doing something “easy.” Yoga had me working muscles that I did not know existed in my body. It was a quick workout that when it was over I couldn’t believe how time had flown. Normally I am counting down the minutes of workouts.

I have been doing variations of workouts on this dvd since my first session. I have successfully completed workouts 1,2, and 3. I can’t believe how much better I feel. They give you the full benefit of a workout and this dvd is so easy for me to use when I don’t feel like driving across town to the gym. In addition there are so many healthy benefits of yoga.

The health benefits of yoga (From the Mayo Clinic)

  • Stress reduction. A number of studies have shown that yoga can help reduce stress and anxiety. It can also enhance your mood and overall sense of well-being.
  • Improved fitness. Practicing yoga can lead to improved balance, flexibility, range of motion and strength. And this means you’re less likely to injure yourself in other physical endeavors or in your daily activities.
  • Management of chronic conditions. Yoga can help reduce risk factors for chronic diseases, such as heart disease and high blood pressure. Yoga might also help alleviate chronic conditions, such as depression, pain, anxiety and insomnia.

Who could pass up this workout with such benefits?!

Leave a Reply

